Sport: Lionel Messi wins Ballon d’Or 2019 ahead of Virgil van Dijk and Cristiano Ronaldo

Lionel Messi wins Ballon d’Or 2019 ahead of Virgil van Dijk and Cristiano Ronaldo.

Barcelona superstar Lionel Messi clinched the award ahead of Cristiano Ronaldo and Liverpool pair Virgil van Dijk and Sadio Mane.

Lionel Messi has won the Ballon d’Or 2019 for a record sixth time at a ceremony in Paris.

The Barcelona star scooped the prize ahead of Virgil van Dijk, Cristiano Ronaldo and Sadio Mane, who finished in fourth place.

Messi edges ahead of five-time winner Ronaldo following victories in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2015.

“Ten years ago I received my first Ballon d’Or, guided by my three brothers,” Messi told the audience. “Today I receive my sixth, guided by my wife and children.”

Van Dijk, who was voted into second place, hailed Messi and Ronaldo.

“It was an amazing year, but there’s a couple of players like that who are a bit unnatural.,” he said.

“So you need to respect greatness as well. I was close, but there was just someone a little bit better.

“I’m very proud of what I achieved last year with Liverpool and Holland, and hopefully we can do that again this year. But that will be tough with those guys around here still.”

Liverpool’s Dutch defender Virgil van Dijk was in second place.

Liverpool forward Mohamed Salah finished fifth, followed by PSG’s Kylian Mbappe, while Salah’s team-mate Alisson Becker was in seventh.

READ  Chelsea keen to stave off Barcelona interest in Willian as contracts for five stars lined

However, the Brazilian did pick up an award, beating Manchester City rival Ederson to the Yachine Trophy for the best keeper.

City duo Bernardo Silva and Riyad Mahrez finished in ninth and 10th place respectively, hot on the heels of Bayern Munich’s Robert Lewandowski.

France Football had earlier confirmed released positions 11-30, which meant Van Dijk was guaranteed a place in the top 10 along with Reds team-mates Mane, goalkeeper Alisson and Egyptian superstar Salah.

The other six confirmed in the top 10 were Messi, Lewandowski, City’s Mahrez and Silva, PSG forward Mbappe and Juventus sensation Ronaldo .

The first of seven Liverpool players to have their position confirmed was Georginio Wijnaldum, the Champions League semi-final hero who shared 26th place with Real Madrid striker Karim Benzema.

Ballon d’Or: Who should win 2019 prize? Mirror Football writers have their say
Wijnaldum’s Reds team-mates Trent Alexander-Arnold and Roberto Firmino were 19th and 17th respectively, with four of the Champions League-winning team sitting in the top 10.

Another Premier League representative was Arsenal captain Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, who shared 20th place with Ajax star Dusan Tadic, formerly of Southampton .

Aubameyang was able to claim bragging rights over his fierce north London rivals, as he finished ahead of Tottenham pair Hugo Lloris and Son Heung-min.

READ  Arsenal: Gunners Among the five clubs interested in £40m Duthcman Ake

Meanwhile, Juventus defender Matthijs De Ligt won the Kopa Trophy ahead of Jadon Sancho and Joao Felix.

Matthijs De Ligt won the Kopa Trophy (Image: YOAN VALAT/EPA-EFE/REX)
Bayern Munich striker Robert Lewandowski and his wife Anna (Image: YOAN VALAT/EPA-EFE/REX)
Ballon d’Or chances ‘could stop Kylian Mbappe from making Liverpool transfer’
The full 2019 Ballon d’Or rankings

28= Joao Felix (Atletico Madrid)

28= Marquinhos (Paris Saint-Germain)

28= Donny van de Beek (Ajax)

26= Karim Benzema (Real Madrid)

26= Georginio Wijnaldum ( Liverpool )

24= Kalidou Koulibaly (Napoli)

24= Marc-Andre Ter Stegen ( Barcelona )

23= Hugo Lloris (Tottenham)

22= Son Heung-min (Tottenham)

20= Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Arsenal)

20= Dusan Tadic (Ajax)

19= Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool)

18= Antoine Griezmann (Barcelona)

17= Roberto Firmino (Liverpool

16= Sergio Aguero ( Manchester City )

15= Matthijs de Ligt ( Juventus )

14= Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City)

13= Eden Hazard (Real Madrid)

12= Raheem Sterling (Manchester City)

11= Frenkie De Jong (Barcelona)

10= Riyad Mahrez (Manchester City)

9= Bernardo Silva (Manchester City)

8= Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich)

7= Alisson Becker (Liverpool)

6= Kylian Mbappe (PSG)

5= Mohamed Salah (Liverpool)

4= Sadio Mane (Liverpool)

3= Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus)

2= Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool)

1= Lionel Messi (Barcelona)

Leave a Response

share on: